Helsinki-Cotonou Ensemble

Helsinki-Cotonou Ensemble takes the sounds of Benin, the homeland of Voodoo, and combines them with soulful songwriting, jazzy improvisations and funky beats.

Helsinki-Cotonou Ensemble has been touring in Finland, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Benin, Germany, Hungary, Italy and Canada.

The music is written by the band's lead vocalist/percussionist Noël Saïzonou and guitarist Janne Halonen. The name of the band refers to their hometowns, which are over 6000 km apart.

Noël Saïzonou - vocals, percussion
Janne Halonen - guitar, vocals
Sampo Riskilä - bass
Juha Räsänen - drums
Menard Mponda -percussion, vocals
Visa Oscar - keyboards
Joakim Berghäll - saxophones, vocals
Mikko Pettinen - trumpet, vocals


Order Album!

New album on Spotify

We Are Together - Album release concert at Kantime sm Beghain in Berlin 23.3.2018!

Come and celebrate the new album “We Are Together” at Tavastia in Helsinki 11.4.2018!

“The Finnish-Benines collaboration combines vivid Modern Jazz, Funky Beats and edgy Afrobeat in an innovating manner. Behind everything one can hear the magnificent Benines rhythms of Voodoo. If this doesn’t move the listener, then what does!“

- Mari Koppinen, Helsingin Sanomat, Finland